Triton High teacher named Teacher of The Year

Longtime veteran receives top award


Brian Foster, a Triton High School teacher who has made a career of improving the lives of young people, was named Harnett County’s Teacher of the Year at the district’s annual banquet to honor top educators Thursday night.

Foster, who was once a student at Triton, teaches social studies and coaches the school’s men’s and women’s soccer teams. Foster received a Bachelor of Arts in history from Fayetteville State University and taught at Coats-Erwin Middle School, where he won the Teacher of the Year honor for his school, before coming to Triton.

Triton High School Principal Ryan McNeill said he has been an “asset” to the school.

“Brian Foster is an outstanding educator for Triton High School and Harnett County,” McNeill said. “He builds relationships with his students and makes sure they know that he will be an advocate for them while at Triton. He is a positive influence to students and staff and is always willing to help when asked.”

Foster will now proceed to regional and possibly state competitions, with the ultimate goal of winning the statewide Teacher of The Year honor.

Harnett County Schools also recognized first-year educator Kathryn Javens of Johnsonville Elementary with the New Teacher of the Year Award.

“She is well organized and a type A personality,” Johnsonville Principal Jeané Pope said. “She gets things done and we are so blessed to have her at Johnsonville.”

Winners of the Rookie of The Year award from individual districts in the county were: from the Harnett Central attendance area, Lauren Hippo; from the Overhills attendance area, Natasha Grimm; and from the Triton attendance area, Summer Barefoot.

Teacher of the Year awards from individual schools were: from Anderson Creek Primary School, Meredith Brown; from Angier Elementary School, Sarah Witt; from Benhaven Elementary School, Martha Rhodes; from Boone Trail Elementary School, Kelli Crews; from Buies Creek Elementary School, Emily Pivec; from Coats Elementary School, Taylor Babcock; from Coats-Erwin Middle School, Nicholas Weeks; from Dunn Middle School, Cyndi Swaim; from Erwin Elementary School, Tracy Gaines; from Gentry Primary School, Paige Stephenson; from Harnett Central High School, Jessica Betts; from Harnett Central Middle School, Amy Hankins Bee; from the Harnett County Early College, Sherrie Ivey; from Harnett Primary School, Diann Fulton; from Highland Elementary School, Shawneca Mowatt-Brown; from Highland Middle School, Julie Mesaros; from Johnsonville Elementary School, Joan Powell; from Lafayette Elementary School, Lisa Williams; from Lillington-Shawtown Elementary School, Amber Anderson; from North Harnett Primary School, Mary McDonnell; from Overhills Elementary School, Melissa Hazen; from Overhills High School, Cade Riggs; from Overhills Middle School, Andrew Owens Jr.; from South Harnett Primary School, Alyssa Nagg; from Star Academy, Kevin Wills; from Wayne Avenue Elementary School, Karen McLean; from Western Harnett High School, Norma O’Quinn; and from Western Harnett Middle School, Laura Collins.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment