Central Carolina’s Phi Theta Kappa holds induction ceremony


Academic achievement and service were celebrated April 11 as Central Carolina Community College’s Beta Sigma Phi Chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society held its spring induction ceremony.

In 1929, the American Association of Community Colleges recognized PTK as the official honor society for two-year colleges. The CCCC chapter sets a higher standard for membership eligibility than the national organization: a 3.7 grade point average rather than the 3.5 GPA that national requires.

Nicole Thompson, Phi Theta Kappa alumna, was the speaker for the event held at the Dennis A. Wicker Civic & Conference Center in Sanford. “You have accomplished something great; you have shown the dedication and promise that this honor society desires,” she told the inductees. “Be immensely proud of how hard you’ve worked to get to this point.”

Thompson talked about the PTK family. “Most of all, I’ll never forget all the happiness and joy this organization gave to me,” she said. “Because of this family, I now have a network of people I can lean on through thick and thin. Because of this family, I have become the strong, dedicated, confident woman that I am today.

“So, on this amazing day, I just have one last thing to say to you: Welcome to our family.”

Dr. Rodney Powell, chapter adviser, gave the welcome and introduction of guests.

CCCC President Dr. Lisa M. Chapman offered her congratulations to the new PTK inductees.

CCCC had its own honor society, Alpha Theta Tau, from 1986 until the chartering of the Phi Theta Kappa chapter in 2010.

Phi Theta Kappa officers — President Daniel Painter, Vice President Paula Funes and Secretary Karmisha Hernandez Luciano — conducted the induction ceremony.

In its years of existence, the college’s Beta Sigma Phi Chapter has garnered a number of prestigious recognitions from PTK. These include the Five-Star ranking — the highest ranking a chapter can receive for excellence, and awards at regional PTK conferences. It has also reached out to the community with service projects, such as assisting food banks and shelters.

The 2019 spring inductees from the local area are:

  • Angier: Kaitlyn Barbour, Nicholas Horne, Taylor Smith
  • Broadway: Domingo Campos
  • Bunnlevel: Deborah Wilkerson
  • Cameron: Gabriel Garcia, Cindy Gilman, Breanna Potter, Ivie Sumner, Josephina Taylor
  • Dunn: Crystal Williams
  • Fuquay-Varina: Alexander Blanco, Benjamin Falero, Lisa Kim, Abigail Kraska, Gareth Pollard, Faith Price, Sarah Sherman, Ashtyn Zimmer
  • Godwin: Kassandria Williams Sanders
  • Lillington: Mindi Avery, Andreniki Ray, Lydia Russell
  • Linden: Justin Cornish
  • Sanford: Bryan Aguirre, Evan Aldridge, Taylor Baile, Tonya Bourgeois, Christopher Bowen, Suzy Brito, Bertha Brown, Megan Bullard, Sheila Chamblee, Bailey Coffer, Jasmine Coney, Jordan Coney, Starlene Cooner, Matthew Cottrill, Angela Crowder, Rebecca Dominic, Megan Duhon, Emily Hare, Emily Harrison, John Hill, Samuel Hill, Mackenzie Hulsey, Jennifer Huynh, Ryan Janis, Cassidy Kellam, Kaitlyn Kelly, Mia Knecht, Crystal Kohli, Lauren Love, Daniel Matangira, Diana Mattson, Kayla McCorrison, Damian Pearson, Lisa Ryan, Taylor Schwab, David Smoak, Marleeah Stackhouse, Angel Uy, Kathleen Windley
  • Spring Lake: Sierra Cook, Annamarie Musso
  • Comments

    No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
    Please log in or register to add your comment